Cord confused over IEBC, cannot lead Kenya – Ruto

Deputy President William Ruto has criticised Cord over IEBC saying the group cannot be allowed to take charge of the country.

"Kama hawa watu wanashindwa kukubaliana watu saba, wataendesha mambo ya wakenya 40million kwa njia gani ? (If these people are not able to control seven people, how sure are we that they can control 40 million people in this county )," he posed.

The deputy President who is eyeing the presidency in 2022 polls said the opposition should come together and solve their issues before it is too late.

"Naskia wamekosana. Karibu watafanya maandamano tena kwa hiyo mambo... mimi nafikiri tuwaombee... hii kuchanganyikiwa imekuwa too much (I hear there are wrangles in the party and they are about to protest again over this issue, I think they need prayers. This confusion is too much)," he added.

Ruto made the remarks when he addressed a gathering at Eastleigh on Thursday.

He further said the said the government is committed to uniting all Kenyans, adding that "the era of divisive politics is dead and gone".

In June, Cord named MPs Junet Mohamed (Suna East), Simiyu Eseli (Tongaren), Hellen Sambili (Mogotio) and Senators James Orengo (Siaya), Johnstone Muthama (Machakos) and Mutula Kilonzo Junior (Makueni) to represent it in the talks.

But Sambili withdrew from the select team , a situation that has made it hard for the planned dialogue between Jubilee and Cord on the IEBC stalemate to kick off.

Junet said they do not know why Prof Sambili withdrew because her name was forwarded to Cord by her party on the request of her secretary general.

More on this : MP Sambili withdraws from Cord's IEBC dialogue team

Jubilee also named seven legislators to take part in the IEBC dialogue, a day after the opposition unveiled its team, with Meru Senator Kiraitu Murungi being nominated as team leader and co-chair of the select committee.

Other members include Senators Beatrice Elachi (nominated) and Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), MPs Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Naomi Shaban (Taveta), Mohamuud Mohammed (Mandera West), and Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache North) will also form part of the committee.

The committee will inquire into the allegations raised against IEBC commissioners and the secretariat.

Posted in Kenya news.